Kaliméra, Greetings from Greece!

Greece, one to tick of the life list, didn’t disappoint! After the an extremely bumpy landing, Crete defiantly knew we had arrived due to the orchestra of screams coming from the cabin! We visited three islands in the space of seven days, a short but very sweet trip! Every good adventure requires a base, so we spent the majority of our time in Greece in Hersonissos.

Crete

IMG_20150801_102315A small, picturesque Cretan town is something Hersonissos defiantly isn’t. Home to luxury hotels, shops and beaches, the town is surrounded by a series of smaller villages (Koutouloufari, Piskopiano and Ano Hersonissos). The beaches here were and the easy access to transport links for other adventures where its main reasoning for visiting.

The sea quickly became my playground! However screaming when you see your first tropical blue and orange fish isn’t an advisable idea, one because who the hell can hear you apart from the fish that have now been scared away and two you have just inhaled half of the Mediterranean sea!! Snorkelling became part of my daily routine, following fish around the coral was amazing until you finally decide to lift your head out the water and realised that you have floated ages away from where you planned to be, thank god I can swim!

Hersonissos was home to very loud crickets or some kind of insect, they were the loudest thing ever I mean you would have to shout to actually be heard over them! The wildlife of the island caused me further annoyance as I gained three large bites, I eventually gave in and spent 24 euros on bite cream!

Chrissi Island 

The most southern island in Europe, translated the ‘Golden Island’ .IMG_20150801_102945

Protected as an area of ‘intense natural beauty’, the island was one of the most prettiest sights I had ever seen. Every-time I witness the wonders of natural beauty, I relate back to my profession choice and come to the same conclusion, things that create such presence and awe cant be planned. As a planner and designer nothing I will ever produce will be of such perfection, however considering the reactions that such places create inspires a way of thinking encouraging me to design to create experience. Geeky, I know that even when I am adventuring I come to think about my future discipline!

Docking on one side of the island we tracked to the other to be greeted by the ‘Golden Beach’. Never have I ever seen sea so beautiful, the water was crystal clean (I know how very cliche), I think we spent around five hours on the island, three and a half of which I spent in the sea! Swimming from the most eastern to west point of the island, I tested out my new snorkel! If only sea water wasn’t so salty I would happily snorkel forever!

Screenshot_2015-07-29-19-51-26_1

Uninhabited it was illegal to spend the night of the island, but at 44 degrees, perhaps the day was enough!! Although it did cross my mind more than once that by staying I could become a real life Robinson Crusoe! The boat ride back led to more excitement as a pod of dolphins decided to swim alongside the boat for the duration!

Santorini 

Oia, inhabiting the most southern point of the island, was an image of what is associated with traditional Greece. Built on a steep slope, dwellings nestle in bundles into the volcanic rock, pure white buildings are topped with colourful roofs and hugged by vines and flowers.

IMG_20150801_102531

Twisting narrow streets, allowed for me to get lost, meandering up and down staircases I wasn’t phased by the fact that I had no idea where I was with only ten minutes to make my bus transfer.

Witnessing the panoramic view of Caldera, the volcano I significantly decreased my available memory on my phone as I couldn’t help but take way more than necessary photographs.

The donkeys well they don’t stop for no tourist, led by the locals who were completing there daily tasks it was evident just how many people fleeted to this small own to take in the views. When I was offered a room for the night for only 600 euros, yep that’s ONLY 600 euros I became aware of how much such visitors had changed the historic workings of such a picturesque village.

We then boarded a boat and headed to the hot springs surrounding the base of Caldera, jumping from the boat it was a short swim to the hot springs! Bathing in volcanic ash filled water was I have to admit a quite strange realisation but one I won’t forget. Returning back to the boat, on the sail back to the port we passed a huge watch named Topas which upon arriving home a quick google search confirmed that it belonged to the Manchester City owner. Also I have decided if I can ever afford a boat I am so getting one, sailing around with a slight breeze is something I could defiantly get used to!

So after a week in 40 degree plus heat, it was time to return back to real life arriving to rain at Newcastle airport. Welcome home! Its the same feeling, after ever adventure the ambition to travel and see every nook and cranny of the world is ever increasing! Making me wonder and question decisions, how is one meant to decide whether to travel, cement a career or what the hell to do at 23! Starting a career I hope aims to finance my ambition to travel, as I promise to myself that I will make time for adventure! So such revelations led to an impromptu purchase of ‘Love, Travel, Plan’ off Amazon.

Leave a Reply

